scribegerma.blogg.se

Ome banjo images
Ome banjo images












ome banjo images

Mostly I talked with Tanya about a banjo I want to have them build for me, and to Chuck about some cocobolo I have that Chuck traded me a banjo made by his son for a part of. Chuck came in later and heard that Bill had passed away, and we talked about that for a bit. Bill was a real model for Chuck when he set up OME, and Chuck used a business model similar to Bill's, that is to build the best high end banjos he could. When I first arrived, Tanya had just heard that Bill Collings had passed away. They really take care in building their banjos. It is always a pleasure to visit their shop and see old world craftsmanship at work. I went by OME today, and spent a couple of hours talking with Tanya and Chuck. Played as an OB or BG style banjo, this Juniper is an excellent instrument.

ome banjo images

I've never regretted the switch to the OME. This OME is an excellent instrument in fit, finish, tone, playability etc, far better, IMHO, than the Gibson I had. So, I experimented before settling on the renaissance. She gave me the renaissance head as part of the deal and I had a standard remo left from the RB that fit. When I purchased it, it had a fiberskin head on it because the prior owner was a CH musician. Personally, I prefer a more mellow sound so have a renaissance head on it at present and find it's tone more to my liking. It has worked out very well for my aching neck and back.Īnyway, I have to say, with the resonator and a switch to a standard remo head, it has as much punch ( IMHO) as the RB did. BTW, this OME is 7# w/o the resonator and just shy of 7.5# with it. I made the switch because of my aching neck & back problems and not being able to tolerate the 11+ pounds of the RB 250 even while sitting. I sold my RB 250 and bought this one used here on the hangout. I have an OME Juniper (open back) with the silver spun tone ring and a matching pop-off resonator (made my OME).














Ome banjo images